Officers of the Inn

The Inn has four officers. The Treasurer is the head of the Society and presides at meetings of Council. There are also the Master of the Library, the Keeper of the Black Book and Dean of the Chapel, and the Master of the Walks. The following are the Officers of the Society for 2017:

Treasurer: The Rt Hon Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury
Master of the Library: The Rt Hon Lord Justice Patten

Keeper of the Black Book
and Dean of the Chapel:

The Rt Hon Lord Justice McCombe
Master of the Walks: The Rt Hon Lord Justice David Richards

The immediate past Treasurer is The Rt Hon Sir John Goldring. 

The normal course is for a bencher to hold each office for a year, starting with Master of the Walks and progressing to the Treasurership. There are elections to each office each year, the electorate being the ordinary benchers of the Inn, ie those benchers who are neither honorary nor emeritus.

The offices and their titles have been settled since the seventeenth century and allow the holders to gain experience of different aspects of the administration of the Inn before assuming the Treasurership.