Lincoln's Inn logo

Into the Archives: William Hogarth

In 1745 the Inn was left £200 by Lord Wyndham to be used for ‘adorning the Chapel or Hall’. As a result it was decided in 1748 to commission a painting by William Hogarth. The painting, which hangs at the upper end of Old Hall, was entitled ‘Paul before Felix’. Documents in the Inn’s Archives shed light on Hogarth’s vision for this artwork, which we explore in Into the Archives: William Hogarth.