Lincoln's Inn logo

Who We Are

The principal activities of Lincoln’s Inn are the provision of educational activities for students and continuing education for barristers; the provision of scholarships to students; the maintenance and development of the Inn’s estate of some 11 acres, including its historic and other buildings which comprise both collegiate buildings and other premises let as barristers’ chambers, professional offices and residential accommodation; support for the Bar; the provision of a first class law library; the maintenance of its Chapel as a place of worship; and collegiate activities for its members.

Our Purpose

Based on centuries of tradition and the needs of the modern world, Lincoln’s Inn is an inclusive and diverse professional community, the purpose of which is to:

• support the rule of law and the effectiveness of the Bar through education, scholarships, qualification and other services;

• manage, use and enhance its historic estate in the heart of London for the benefit of members, tenants, residents, external customers and the wider public.

The Inn aims to achieve the highest standards in its service delivery and operations.

The Inn is committed to working in a way that is inclusive, collaborative, and positive.  We approach our work with professionalism and integrity.

Our People

The Masters of the Bench, generally referred to as Benchers, form the Council of Lincoln’s Inn, our governing body.  From their number are elected a Treasurer to head the Society each year and the Officers of the Inn.  The Benchers also form the majority membership of the Inn’s Bench Committees, which oversee the work of the Inn.  They are joined in this work by barrister members of the Inn, predominantly drawn from our Bar Representation Committee.

You can read more about our governance arrangements in the Governance section.

The Inn’s professional team is made up of over 120 employees, led by our Under Treasurer, Anne Sharp CBE.  The Under Treasurer as Chief Executive of the Inn is responsible for all facets of the Inn’s organisation and operation and she leads the Inn’s Executive Team:

Dr Rachel Hooper, Director of Services & Communications
Responsible for the Inn’s corporate services, events and hospitality function, security, gardens, projects and communications.

Philip Ardley, Director of Estates
Responsible for maintenance, letting, and major projects involving the Inn’s buildings and estate.

Faye Appleton, Director of Membership & Education
Responsible for member engagement, outreach, scholarships, and education & training programmes for students, pupils, and barristers.

Katie Shubrook, Finance Director
Responsible for management and oversight of the Inn’s finances & charities and information technology.

Nathalie Brule, HR Director
Responsible for management of our HR policies and processes.

Dunstan Speight, Librarian
Responsible for library services, our archives, and our collection of paintings, silver, and other valuables.

Officers of the Inn

The Treasurer is the annually elected Head of Lincoln’s Inn.

There are also the Master of the Library, the Keeper of the Black Books and Dean of the Chapel, and the Master of the Walks.


Treasurer - The Rt Hon Sir David Richards


Phone: 020 7693 5197

The Rt Hon Sir David Richards was called to the Bar in 1974 by Inner Temple and joined Lincoln’s Inn in 1977. He was in practice at the Bar from 1975 to 2003 and took silk in 1992. He was appointed a High Court Judge in 2003. On 16 November 2015 he was appointed as a Lord Justice of Appeal before retiring in June 2021. He was elected a Bencher in 2000. He was a longstanding member of the Finance and General Purposes Committee and served as its Chairman from 2014-2019. He is a Director of the Inn’s Corporate Trust, a Trustee of the Heritage Fund, a member of PADG and the Wine Committee.

Master of the Library - Jonathan Crow QC


Email: c/o
Phone: 020 7693 5197

Jonathan Crow QC was called in 1981 and took silk in 2006. He is a practising barrister at 4 Stone Buildings. His practice includes civil fraud, company law, corporate insolvencies, public law and constitutional law. In addition to his work in London, he also has a busy overseas practice. He sits part time as a Deputy High Court Judge in London and as a judge of the Courts of Appeal in Jersey and Guernsey. He is Attorney General to HRH The Prince of Wales. He was elected a Bencher in 1998. He sits on the Finance and General Purposes Committee and previously served on the Estates Committee, Treasurer’s Committee and University Liaison Committee.

Keeper of the Black Book - The Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey Vos

Email: c/o 
Phone: 020 7693 5197

Sir Geoffrey Vos was called to the Bar by Inner Temple in 1977 and joined Lincoln’s Inn in 1979. He practised at the Chancery-Commercial bar and took silk in 1993. He was appointed a Justice of the High Court in October 2009. He was appointed a Lord Justice of Appeal in 2013.  He was appointed Chancellor of the High Court of England and Wales in 2016. He was the Chairman of the Chancery Bar Association from 1999 to 2001 and of the Bar Council in 2007. He was elected a Bencher in 2000. He sits on the Wine Committee and previously served on the Admission, Call and Pupillage Committee and Finance and General Purposes Committee.

Master of the Walks and Dean of Chapel - The Rt Hon Lord Briggs of Westbourne

Email: c/o
Phone: 020 7693 5197

Lord Briggs practised in commercial and chancery work before being appointed to the High Court in 2006. He was the judge in charge of the extensive Lehman insolvency litigation from 2009 to 2013. He was appointed as a Lord Justice of Appeal in 2013. In January 2016 he was appointed Deputy Head of Civil Justice. He became a Justice of The Supreme Court in October 2017. He was elected a Bencher in 2001. He became Chair of the Chapel Committee last year having been a member since 2002. He previously served on the Advisory (Benchers) Committee and the Rent Executive Committee.

The Immediate Past Treasurer is The Rt Hon Lord Justice McCombe

Email: c/o

Lord Justice McCombe was called to the Bar in 1975 by Lincoln’s Inn, and was elected a Bencher in 1996. He was the second junior counsel to the Director-General of Fair Trading from 1982- 1987. In 1987 he became first junior counsel, which he served as until 1989, and was also appointed as Queen’s Counsel. He became an Assistant Recorder in 1993 and a Recorder in 1996. In 1998 he was appointed as a Deputy High Court judge. Between 1996-2001, he served as Attorney General to the Duchy of Lancaster. On 11th January 2001, he was appointed to the High Court, Queen’s Bench Division. From 2004-2007, he served as Presiding Judge on the Northern Circuit. He was appointed as a Lord Justice of Appeal on 26 October 2012.

The Under Treasurer as Chief Executive of the Inn is responsible for all facets of the Inn’s organisation and operation.

Under Treasurer

Anne Sharp CBE

Anne Sharp is the Under Treasurer (Chief Executive) of Lincoln’s Inn, which she joined in January 2019 from the Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service (Acas), where she was CEO.

Anne’s earlier career in the Civil Service involved regulatory, policy, leadership and strategy experience across a wide range of topics and sectors. From 2009 to February 2013 Anne reported to the Lord Chief Justice as CEO of the Judicial Office, supporting judges and magistrates around the country.

Anne was awarded a CBE in the 2017 New Year’s Honours for services to workplace relations.