Lincoln's Inn logo

Student Representation

There are a range of appointed representative roles available on the Lincoln’s Inn Students’ Association. All of these roles provide excellent opportunities for students to engage with life at the Inn and interact with all levels of membership.

Student members are encouraged to assist the Inn during their Bar Professional Training Course (BPTC) by becoming a Student Representative for students at their BPTC Provider, Secretary for the Inn’s Mooting or Debating Clubs or as a Committee member of the Lincoln’s Inn Students’ Association (LISA).

The term of office for all roles is 1 November to 31 July. All of the below positions will be appointed by application form. A panel of benchers and barristers appointed by the Chair of the Inn’s Pre-Call Education Committee shall review the applications and select the roles.

BPTC Student Representative Application Form –  Applications for Student Representatives for the below BPTC Providers have been extended to 9am on Monday 16 September 2019.

The BPTC Providers outside of London we require a representative for are:

BPP Birmingham
BPP Bristol
BPP Leeds
Cardiff Law School
Northumbria Law School
Nottingham Law School
University of Law (Birmingham)
University of Law (Leeds)
UWE Bristol

Students can apply for as many positions as they like but they will usually be allocated one position if they are deemed suitable by our panel, although those selected as BPTC Student Representative may also be considered for one of the LISA Committee roles.

Lincoln’s Inn Students’ Association (LISA) Committee

The Association aims to represent and promote the views and interests of our student members, encourage better links between all levels of the Inn’s membership. This includes the organisation of social activities for student membership and assisting the Inn’s provision of educational and social events. All student members of the Inn are automatically members of the Association, unless they choose not to be (by informing the Education Department).

The Association is led by a Committee made up of an Executive, Student Representatives from each BPTC Provider and the Debating and Mooting Club Secretaries.

Committee roles and general descriptions:

  • President – Main representative for LISA to the Inn, chairs any committee meetings throughout the year, liaises with the Secretary with regard to committee meeting agendas, leads the overall management of committee events.
  • Vice-President – Covers for the President as necessary, manages LISA’s communications, including any social media channels.
  • Treasurer – Creates budgets for committee events, organises ticket distribution and payment, produces the annual accounts and applies for any financial aid for events from the Inn.
  • Secretary – Forms the agenda and minutes of committee meetings, manages the committee email address and sends out notices to members as necessary.

BPTC Student Representatives

The Inn relies upon the support of the student representatives at each of the BPTC providers, as they provide the link between the Inn and the student body. The representatives are encouraged to communicate to the Inn feedback from students on issues concerning their affiliation to the Inn, and other issues pertinent to their education and training for the Bar.

Representatives for BPTC Providers outside of London are also expected to organise at least one and up to three educational activities (which can be accredited as qualifying sessions). Funding is provided by the Inn, subject to approval. Student representatives also sit on the Lincoln’s Inn Students’ Association and are expected to contribute to their meetings.

Mooting and Debating Club Secretaries

Two secretaries are appointed for each club to assist the Education Department and the club judges with the arrangements for Mooting or Debating Workshops and selection of teams for internal and external competitions. The club secretaries also sit on the Lincoln’s Inn Students’ Association and are expected to contribute to their meetings.

Due to the nature of the role, the secretaries must be students studying at one of the London BPTC Providers, as at least one secretary must attend each workshop at the Inn. Debating and mooting activities at Providers outside of London can be organised by the Student Representatives, who are welcome to liaise with the secretaries regarding local competition opportunities.