Lincoln's Inn logo

2023 Outreach Prize Winners Announced

Congratulations to the 16 winners of the Inn’s Outreach prizes, the Neuberger Prize and Helen Grindrod Social Mobility Prize. Both prizes aim to improve access to the profession and support high achieving students by providing industry-specific experiences and opportunities to help them make informed choices about their career at the Bar.  More information about the prizes can be found here.

The winners of both prizes were invited to Lincoln’s Inn for a three-day Summer School, which took place from 12-14 July.

Day one began with an introduction and tour of the Inn, followed by a reception in the MCR Restaurant and Bar, where participants were introduced to previous prize winners, Benchers and Hall members.

Day two saw the students taking part in ethics and public speaking workshops, led by barrister volunteers, before a visit to the Old Bailey to witness a trial and take part in a Q&A with Judge HHJ Anthony Leonard KC. They then returned to the Inn for their first qualifying session and Domus dinner, where they had the opportunity to sit among practicing barristers, judges and current Bar course students.

The final day of the Summer School consisted of a case analysis workshop where students discussed with a panel of barrister volunteers, before enjoying Members’ Lunch in the Great Hall.

All winners will receive free membership of Lincoln’s Inn, a £250 cash prize, a mentor during their Bar Course and the opportunity to take part in a mini-pupillage organised by the Inn. We would like to thank the winners for their enthusiasm and hard work, and our members who assisted in marking the applications and leading workshops during the summer school.

Neuberger Prize Winners:

Anisa Zina, Birkbeck University
Beata Choraza, Wrexham Glyndwr University
Caoimhe Mckay, University of Ulster
Ethan Naish, University of Essex
Jesica Linton, Leeds Beckett University
Jessica Lockwood, Aberystwyth University
Rosemina Din, Teeside University
Ryan Zwetschnikow, Staffordshire University

Helen Grindrod Social Mobility Prize Winners:

Amani Loonat, City University London
Eeman Dad, Northumbria University
Esther Olupona, University of York
Florence Goodayle, Brunel University London
Jardine Barrington-Cook, Oxford University
Jordan Kiss, Durham University
Kiera Hammond, University of Sussex
Levon Curtis, University of Exeter